Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Opinions wanted on automated powder dispenser scale combinations.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Opinions wanted on automated powder dispenser scale combinations.

Looking at a slight upgrade on my bench. Use a Dillon electronic scale with a Lyman balance for check weights and an old (30 yrs or so) Hornady small hopper powder measure. Looking at upgrading to a combination dispenser and scale combo but the reviews on Brownells and Midway all run between fantastic and it stinks. Who has some personal experience to recommend a make and model, pro and cons?

I've been running the RCBS Chargemaster for a couple years now with no problems. I very rerely break out any of the beams to check it anymore like I did originally. Partially because I always go through the cal check sequence with the included test weights every time I start using it. It's more accurate than I have the patience to be. The scale is stand-alone and has a few modes that are real time savers. It's a life saver when working up hand loads for evaluation.

One option I use a lot is that it starts running powder for my next charge as soon as I lay the pan on the scale. This allows me to finish the charged case while it starts filling the pan for the next case. I run a semi-progressive setup that is basically a funnel sitting on top of where the volumetric thrower normally resides and I wait very little for the powder to finish filling before I'm ready to charge the case with the pan that's been filling.